Breaking News


Nigerians are heading to the polls today to elect new leaders at the state level in the governorship and state house of assembly elections.

The exercise will take place in 29 out of the 36 states of the Federation.

The election started early in a good no of places, so far, no fight as erupted as everything is moving smoothly.

Accreditation and voting commerced at 8:15am in unit 11, ward 10, Okesa in Ado, the Ekiti State capital.

Voting commenced at 8:12am in ward 4 in Oredo LGA in Benin City.

By 8:02 am, INEC officials were already at one of the polling units at Queen Amina Gate in Kaduna South Local Government Area.

7:58 am: All is set for voting to commence at Capital School in Yola, the Adamawa State capital where there are six polling units.

7:51 am: Security operatives enforce movement restriction in Bauchi State.

However, those on essential duties and electorate who are voting elsewhere other than the areas they live, and are able to present their voter cards as proof, are allowed access.

7:40 am: INEC officials and voters are stranded and waiting for the voting centre to be opened at ward 2 in Oredo Local Government Area (LGA) in Benin City, Edo State.

7:34 am: At Kofan Sarkin Jukun, Sabo Polling unit 004, the electoral officers are getting set for the election to commence as all materials both sensitive and non-sensitive are on the ground.

This is where Taraba State Governor, Darius Ishaku, is expected to cast his vote.

Collection and distribution of materials from the Registration Area Centre for Naraguta B at Government College, Zaria Road in Plateau State, commenced as early as 5:00 am.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: