The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has released a comprehensive list of Senators-elect, following the February 23 Presidential and National Assembly Elections.

According to a statement by INEC the list contains the names of those who will be presented certificates of return on Thursday 14th March 2019.

OKOROCHAS Omitted-1.jpg

The list which had a provision for 109 slots, had some names omitted with various remarks as to the reason for the omission.

Very notable of those whose names were omitted, was the name of Governor Rochas Okorocha who ran and reportedly won the race for Imo West Senatorial district.

At the space provided for a remark, the electoral umpire noted that the results of the district were announced under duress.

It remains uncertain what fate awaits the governor on and after Certificates of Return are given to the newly elected Senators.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.